Aluminium Alloys: Cross-Reference Table of Designation Standards

There is a lot of different aluminium alloys as well as designation standards that are used depending on countries, company's traditions and engineering practices. In order to simplify the communication process we've gathered the most popular aluminium grades and alloys and indicated how they cross reference with each other.
Aluminium parts

Aluminium alloys: cross-reference

DIN (Germany) EN ISO ANSI/AA (USA) BS (Great Britain) AFNOR (France) UNE (Spain) UNS JIS (Japan) CSA (Canada) SIS (Sweden)
3.0255 EN AW-1050A Al99,5 AA1050A 1B A5. L-3051 A91050 A1050 995(2S) 4007
3.0275 EN AW-1070A Al99,7 AA1070A 2L 48 A7 L-3071 A91070 A1070 9970 4005
3.0285 EN AW-1080A Al99,8 AA1080A 1A A8 L-3081 A91080 A1080 9980 4004
3.0385 EN AW–1199 AA1199 A91199 A1199
3.0205 EN AW-1200 Al99 AA1200 1C A4 L-3001 A91200 A1200 990(2S) 4010
3.1645 EN AW-2007 AlCu4PbMgMn AA2007 L-3121 A92007 A2007 4355
3.1655 EN AW-2011 Al-Cu6BiPb AA2011 FC 1 A-U5PbBi L-3192 A92011 A2011 CB60(28S) 4338
3.1255 EN AW-2014 Al-Cu4SiMg AA2014 H15 A-U4SG L-3130 A92014 A2014 CS4IN
3.1325 EN AW-2017A Al-Cu4Mg AA2017A H14 A-U4G L-3120 A92017 A2017 CM41(17S) GA631
3.1355 EN AW-2024 Al-Cu4Mg1 AA2024 L97/L98 A-U4G1 L-3140 A92024 A2024 CGA2(24S) 5
3.1305 EN AW-2117 Al-Cu2Mg AA2117 L86 A-U2G L-3180 A92117 A2117 CG30
3.0517 EN AW-3003 Al-Mn1Cu AA3003 A-M1 L-3810 A93003 A3003 MC10
3.0526 EN AW-3004 AlMn1Mg1 AA3004 A-M1G L-3820 A93004 A3004 D35 GA/6511
3.0525 EN AW-3005 AlMn1Mg0,5 AA3005 A-MG0,5 A93005 A3005
3.0515 EN AW-3103 Al-Mn1 AA3103 N3 L-3811 A93103 A3103 4067
3.0505 EN AW-3105 AlMn0,5Mg0,5 AA3105 N31 A93105 A3105
3.3315 EN AW-5005A Al-Mg1 AA5005A N41 A-G0,6 L-3350 A95005 A5005 B57S 4106
3.3527 EN AW-5049 AlMg2Mn0,8 AA5049 A-G2,5MC A95049 A5049
3.3316 EN AW-5050B Al-Mg1,5 AA5050B 3L 44 A-G1,5 L-3380 A95050 A57S
3.3523 EN AW-5052 Al-Mg2,5 AA5052 L80/L81 A-G2,5C L-3360 A95052 A5052 GR20(57S) 4120
3.3355 EN AW-5056A Al-Mg5 AA5056A N6/2L58 A-G5 L-3320 A95056 A5056 GM50R(56S) 4146
3.3345 EN AW-5082 Al-Mg4 AA5082 A-G4,5 A95082 A5082
3.3547 EN AW-5083 Al-Mg4,5Mn AA5083 N8 A-G4,5MC L-3321 A95083 A5083 GM4I(D54S) 4140
3.3545 EN AW-5086 AlMg4 AA5086 A-G4MC L-3382 A95086 GM40
3.3525 EN AW-5251 Al-Mg2 AA5251 N4 A-G2M L-3361 A95251
3.3537 EN AW-5454 Al-Mg3Mn AA5454 A-G2,5MC L-3391 A95454 4130
3.3535 EN AW-5754 Al-Mg3 AA5754 A-G3M L-3390 A95754 4130
3.321 EN AW-6005A (Al-SiMg) AA6005A A-SG0,5 L-3454 A96005 A6005
3.0615 EN AW-6012 AlMgSiPb AA6012 A-SGPb L-3452 A96012
3.3206 EN AW-6060 Al-MgSi AA6060 H9 AGS L-3442 A96060 4140
3.3211 EN AW-6061 Al-Mg1SiCu AA6061 H20 A-GSUC L-3420 A96061 A6061 GS11N
3.2315 EN AW-6082 Al-Si1Mg AA6082 H30 A-SGM0,7 L-3453 A96082 4212
3.4335 EN AW-7020 Al-Zn4,5Mg1 AA7020 H17 A-Z5G L-3741 A97020 4425
3.4345 EN AW-7022 AlZn5Mg3Cu AA7022 A-Z4GU A97022
3.4365 EN AW7075 Al-Zn6MgCu AA7075 2L95 A-Z5GU L-3710 A97075 A7075 ZG62

Differences Between Designation Standards

DIN (Germany)

DIN stands for Deutsches Institut für Normung eV (German Institute for Standardization). This standard uses the letters DIN, followed by alphanumeric codes or figures representing chemical composition, for designation of aluminium and aluminum alloys.

EN (Europe)

EN stands for European Norms, this standard was mandated by the European Economic Community with the aim of standardizing the common language in Europe. EN was created to replace national standards like BS (Great Britain), UNI (Italy), DIN (German), AFNOR (France) and others, however, these listed standards are accepted and used by most countries. For aluminum, this standard’s designation involves the prefix EN AW (wrought alloys) and AC (cast alloys), followed by four digits, with the first digit representing the parent alloying element.


The International Organization for Standardization uses chemical composition for the designation of aluminium alloys. The naming system uses the letters Al as prefix, followed by the chemical composition of the alloy.


AA stands for Aluminum Association and is specific for aluminum. It is a basis for aluminum standards and designations worldwide. It is designated by the prefix AA, followed by four numeric digits. What the numeric digits represent are given as follows:

  • First digit: principal alloying constituent(s)
  • Second and third digits: specific alloy designation (number has no significance but is unique); 
  • Fourth digit: Casting (0) or ingot (1, 2) designation.

BS (Great Britain)

BS stands for British Standards; these standards are developed by the British standard institute. This standard uses alphanumeric characters to designate aluminium alloys. The alphabet in the designation represents the main alloying element, and the figures represent the weight percent of the main alloying element.

AFNOR (France)

AFNOR Stands for Association Française de Normalisation, which means French Standardization in English. AFNOR is a French organization for standardization. Aluminum alloys are named using an alphanumeric system in which the first letter, A, designates the name of the element, and the ensuing letters and numbers designate the alloying elements and their percentages.

UNE (Spain)

UNE stands for Asociación Española de Normalización, which means Spanish organization for standardization. The UNE system of naming aluminum is similar to ANSI/AA system. The alloys are designated by a single letter prefix, followed by a four digit number specifying chemical composition.


UNS stands for Unified Numbering System, it is a unified identification for metals and alloys of metals popular in the United States. It consists of a single-letter prefix followed by five digits representing a materials composition. In most cases the letter is suggestive of the family of metals identified. For aluminium, the prefix letter is A – for aluminum.

JIS (Japan)

JIS stands for Japanese Industrial Standards, and are developed by the Japanese Industrial Standards Committee (JISC) in Tokyo. The specifications for designating aluminum alloys are very similar to the ANSI/AA system. They begin with the prefix JIS, followed by letter A which denotes the area of division, followed by four digits that represents the composition of the material.

CSA (Canada)

CSA stands for Canadian standards association. The CSA system of naming aluminum alloys employs alphanumeric codes which depict the composition and class of the alloys.

SIS (Sweden)

SIS stands for Swedish Institute of Standards, the official standards organisation in Sweden. This system names Aluminium alloys using a four-digit numbering system that describes the main alloying element and its composition.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments